Nomination deadline: February 1, 2011
National winner receives: $10,000
State winners each receive : $1,000

Do you know an outstanding K-6 teacher passionate about American history? All Social Studies and elementary educators who teach American History are welcome.

The National History Teacher of the Year Award give $10,000 to the best American history teacher. The national winner is chosen from outstanding teachers in each state, district, and U.S. territory. State winners receive $1,000 and an archive of books and other resources for their school. The award is sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute, Preserve America, and HISTORY (The History Channel). Nominations for the National History Teacher of the Year can be made by a student, parent, colleague, supervisor, or other education professional familiar with the teacher’s work. In 2011, the Gilder Lehrman Institute will honor a teacher of grades K-6. Middle and high school teachers are honored every other year.

To nominate a teacher and learn more about the award, visit:
National History Teacher of the Year Award

You may also contact the Gilder Lehrman National History Teacher of the Year coordinator at nhtoy@gilderlehrman.org or via phone at 646-366-9666 x28.