Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History


Congratulations Stacy Hoeflich, 2011 National History Teacher of the Year.

Stacy Hoeflich is pictured here with Mayor Michael Bloomberg and her former students, Rebecca Tilahun and Alan Hernandez. Read about the winner.

New Teaching Resources: Liberty and the American Revolution

Teaching strategies and selections from the collection of Sid Lapidus at the Princeton University Library. Strategy and lesson contributions made by prize-winning history teachers. Browse the resources.

Follow Gilder Lehrman


2012 Award Nomination Deadline: February 1


National winner receives: $10,000
State winners each receive: $1,000

All winners receive an archive of materials for their school library, donated in their honor.

Do you know an outstanding teacher passionate about American history? All full-time educators who teach American history are eligible.

To Nominate:
• Submit the name and email of an outstanding teacher at
• Nominations of K–12 teachers accepted throughout the year
• Nominations can be made by a student, parent, colleague, principal or school administrator familiar with the teacher's work

The Nomination Deadline for the 2012 award, honoring middle and high school teachers, is February 1, 2012.

To nominate a teacher and learn more about the award, visit:
National History Teacher of the Year Award

The award is sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute, Preserve America, and HISTORY®.

One winner will be chosen from each of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, US Territories, and Department of Defense schools. These winners will be considered for the national award. Contact the National History Teacher of the Year coordinator at or via phone at 646-366-9666 x28.


If you believe that this message has been received in error, please click the "Unsubscribe" button at the bottom of this page. If you are not on our mailing list, but would like to subscribe, click here: The Institute does not rent, sell, or lend personal information to third parties.